Forex Germany

Expert Advisors

An Expert Advisor, also called EA, is a program which has been designed for or been developed within the trading platform MetaTrader 4.

In principal, every user can develop his own EAs which will trade based on the programmed trading strategy, even automatically depending on the set up. A great number of Expert Advisors - discussed and tested in various forums- are offered at no cost in the internet. Often the "Open Source" concept still prevails which means the source code is disclosed and can be used and modified by the traders at their discretion.

On the other side, commercial Expert Advisors are closed systems, the source code cannot be accessed by the trader. For these cases the buyer needs to rely on the seller's information regarding the programmed trading system as long as any information is disclosed at all. Frequently the strategy used in the application is only outlined and not described in detail in order to suppress any imitation (scam). Therefore, you need to gather complete information about the potential Expert Advisor before a purchase, if you are interested in new EAs, please wait for first user feedbacks and live results.

Many Expert Advisor providers have moved to a stronger protection of their source code. The simplest method is the entry of a registration number (frequently the number of the receipt), but sometimes a registration of a trading account on the provider's website or the installation of additional programs like Forex Code Guard is required.

Basically you should have understood the Expert Advisor's input parameters and trading strategy before its use, regardless whether you use a purchased version or an EA freely available in the internet.

It is recommended to carry out extended Backtesting on the EA and to try it on a demo account for a longer period of time, even if the results cannot be transferred to a live account offhand.

You may consider running the Expert Advisor on a Virtual Private Server in order to exploit its full potential.

Risk-Reward-Ratio

The Risk-Reward-ratio indicates the risk appetite of an Expert Advisor. An Expert Advisor working with a take profit limit of 5 pips and a stop loss limit of 40 pips has a Risk-Reward-Ratio of 8:1 and will need a hit ratio of at least 89% in order to prove profitable in the long run.

Some EAs offered in the market - in particular Scalpers - show a Risk-Reward-Ratio of 15:1 and more, which indicates a strategy prepared to take risks. A high Risk-Reward-Ratio does not necessarily mean that the respective EA won't result in good profits. An Expert Advisor with a hit ratio of 95% will even be profitable at a Risk-Reward-Ratio of 15:1, but as soon as the hit rate drops to 93%, possibly due to a changed market situation, the EA will incur a loss.

Many current Expert Advisors are also equipped with active risk management which allows a permanent monitoring of the open position and a closing of the position even before reaching the stop loss limit if needed, thus considerably reducing the actual Risk-Reward-Ratio in parts.

Risk per Trade

Most Expert Advisors permit the entry of a maximum risk which must not exceeded by individual transactions, but the underlying calculation methods may deviate strongly. The base approach relates the indicated percentage merely to the current credit balance on the account as explained in the following example:

Risk: 10%
Balance: EUR 1.000
Leverage: 500:1
Currency pair: EUR/USD
Rate: 1,50

In this case a lot equals EUR 100,000, at a leverage of 500:1 a margin of EUR 200 will be required to trade this lot. Should now 10% of the balance - which is EUR 100 - be put at risk, the EA would trade 0.5 lots. Even if the EA considers open trades and allows an available margin instead the credit balance, this would still be a quite daring approach, as the stop limit needs to be observed for an adequate risk evaluation.

A pip has a countervalue of USD 0.5 in 0.5 lots EUR/USD. If the Expert Advisor works with a stop loss limit of 300 pits, this would result in a maximum loss of USD 1.500 for this trade, in other words, the account would be erased.

However, if the stop loss limit is incorporated, the calculation will change as follows: 1 pips equals USD 10 in 1 lot EUR/USD, the loss potential at a stop loss limit of 300 pips would be USD 3,000 or EUR 2,000 respectively. This results in an order size of 0.05 lots, as still only EUR 100 should be put at risk.

Expert Advisors, MetaTrader 4 installations and accounts

In theory it is possible to operate an unlimited number of Expert Advisors within a MetaTrader 4 installation. For this very reason almost all EAs contain a Magic Number which allows each Expert Advisor to monitor its "own" orders. Usually Magic Numbers have to be assigned to each chart individually, especially if the EA is supposed to trade a currency pair in several charts simultaneously like for the testing of different settings. Some modern EAs are capable to keep apart the orders for the individual currency pairs automatically, in this case a Magic Number needs to be entered only when really two charts of a currency pair are being used.

Because of its technical design MetraTrader 4 is not able to process several trades simultaneously. This is the reason why it may occur that two or more traders reach the Trade Contex at the same time if a number of EAs are active in several charts or possibly even use several trading strategies for each chart. If this happens, then only the first order will be executed, a waiting list or similar does not exist. It depends on the processing of the Expert Advisor triggering the rejected order whether it will placed once more at a later time. The impact of this issue can be reduced by installing MetaTrader 4 several times or by copying an existing installation. It is possible to log into the same account from each of these installations and to spread the charts equally across all installations.

Furthermore, the account balance or the margin respectively needs to be accounted for when operating several Expert Advisors within one single account. Individual EAs usually factor in the available account balance with their money management, but they do not observe the behaviour of other Expert Advisors. A risk per trade of 5% may acceptable for an EA with 4 trading strategies, but this looks entirely different for 3 EAs which are using 15 trading strategies on the same account, as in this case the accumulated risk amounts to 75%. Therefore it can happen that due to the large number of open orders the margin will be consumed completely leading to a forced closure of different positions, although each individual order remains within its limit.

Menu

Deutsch / English

Domain Factory

Forex Germany

Expert Advisors

Ein Expert Advisor oder auch EA ist ein Programm welches für bzw. in der Handelsplattform MetaTrader 4 geschrieben wurde.

Grundsätzlich kann jeder Anwender seine eigenen EAs entwickeln, die dann nach der programmierten Tradingstrategie - je nach Einstellung auch vollautomatisch - handeln. Es gibt jedoch auch eine Vielzahl von Expert Advisors, die kostenlos im Internet angeboten und in diversen Foren diskutiert und getestet werden. Hier gilt oft noch der "Open Source" Gedanke, das heißt, der Programmiercode wird offen gelegt und kann von jedem Trader verwendet und nach belieben modifiziert werden.

Im Gegensatz dazu stellen kommerziell vermarktete Expert Advisors in der Regel in sich geschlossene Systeme dar, wodurch der Programmcode für den Trader nicht eingesehen werden kann. In diesen Fällen muß sich der Käufer auf die Angaben des Verkäufers zum programmierten Handelssystem verlassen, insoweit dieser überhaupt Details bekannt gibt. Oft wird die zur Anwendung kommende Strategie nur grob umrissen und nicht detailliert erläutert um Nachahmungen (Scam) zu vermeiden. Umso wichtiger ist es, sich vor dem Kauf genau über den in Frage kommenden Expert Advisors zu informieren und bei neuen EAs abzuwarten, bis erste Erfahrungsberichte und Live Ergebnisse verfügbar sind.

Viele Anbieter von Expert Advisors sind zwischenzeitlich dazu übergegangen, den Programmcode ihrer EAs stärker zu schützen. Diese EAs erfordern im einfachsten Fall die Eingabe einer Registriernummer (häufig die Nummer des Zahlungsbelegs), manchmal aber auch die Registrierung des Handelskontos auf der Website des Anbieters oder aber auch die Installation von zusätzlichen Programmen wie z.B. Forex Code Guard.

Grundsätzlich sollte man vor Einsatz eines Expert Advisors dessen Eingabeparameter und Handelsstrategie verstanden haben, egal ob es sich um eine Kaufversion oder einen im Internet frei erhältlichen EA handelt.

Es empfiehlt sich in jedem Fall den EA nicht nur einem ausgiebigem Backtesting zu unterziehen sondern ihn zusätzlich über einen längeren Zeitraum auf einem Demo Account zu testen, auch wenn die Ergebnisse häufig nicht ohne weiteres auf einen Live Account übertragen werden können.

Um das Potential automatisch handelnder Expert Advisors voll zu nutzen, sollte der Betrieb auf einem Virtual Private Server in Erwägung gezogen werden.

Risk-Reward-Ratio

Die Risk-Reward-Ratio ermöglicht es, die Risikoneigung eines Expert Advisors zu beurteilen. Ein Expert Advisor, der mit einem Take Profit Limit von 5 Pips und einem Stop Loss Limit von 40 Pips arbeitet, hat eine Risk-Reward-Ratio von 8:1 und benötigt damit eine Trefferquote von mindestens 89% um langfristig profitabel zu sein.

Einige der am Markt angebotenen EAs - insbesondere Scalper - weisen Risk-Reward-Ratios von 15:1 und mehr auf, was auf eine eher risikofreudige Handelsstrategie hindeutet. Eine hohe Risk-Reward-Ratio bedeutet aber nicht per se, daß der jeweilige EA keine guten Ergebnisse bringen kann. Ein Expert Advisor mit einer Trefferquote von 95% wird auch bei einer Risk-Reward-Ratio von 15:1 Gewinne machen, sollte die Trefferquote jedoch nur geringfügig - zum Beispiel aufgrund von Marktveränderungen - auf 93% fallen, produziert der EA bereits Verluste.

Viele der aktuellen Expert Advisor verfügen zusätzlich über ein aktives Risikomanagement, welches offene Positionen permanent überwacht und bei Bedarf bereits vor Erreichen des Stop Loss Limits schließt, wodurch die tatsächliche Risk-Reward-Ratio teilweise deutlich reduziert wird.

Risk per Trade

Die meisten Expert Advisors erlauben die Eingabe eines maximalen Risikos, welches mit einem einzelnen Trade nicht überschritten werden soll, die Berechnungsmethoden weichen jedoch teilweise stark voneinander ab. Im Basisansatz wird der angegebene Prozentsatz lediglich zum aktuellen Guthaben ins Verhältnis gesetzt, was das folgende Beispiel verdeutlichen soll:

Risk: 10%
Guthaben: EUR 1.000
Hebel: 500:1
Währungspaar: EUR/USD
Kurs: 1,50

Ein Lot hat in diesem Fall einen Wert von EUR 100.000, bei einem Hebel von 500:1 wird somit eine Margin von EUR 200 benötigt, um dieses Lot zu Handeln. Wenn nun 10% des Guthabens von EUR 1.000 - mithin EUR 100 - riskiert werden sollen, würde der EA 0,5 Lots handeln. Selbst wenn der EA offene Geschäfte berücksichtigt und an Stelle des Guthabens auf die noch verfügbare Margin abstellt, ist dieser Ansatz sehr gefährlich, da bei einer angemessenen Risikobetrachtung das Stop Loss Limit zwingend zu beachten ist.

Bei 0,5 Lots EUR/USD hat ein Pip einen Gegenwert von USD 5. Würde dieser Expert Advisor mit einem Stop Loss Limit von 300 Pips arbeiten, ergäbe sich daraus für diesen einen Trade ein maximaler Verlust von USD 1.500 - mit anderen Worten - der Account wäre ausgelöscht.

Wird das Stop Loss Limit hingegen berücksichtigt, ändert sich die Berechnung wie folgt: Bei 1,0 Lot EUR/USD entspricht 1 Pip USD 10 und das Verlustpotential bei einem Stop Loss Limit von 300 Pips somit USD 3.000 bzw. EUR 2.000. Da nach wie vor lediglich EUR 100 riskiert werden sollen, ergibt sich eine Ordergröße von 0,05 Lots.

Expert Advisors, MetaTrader 4 Installationen und Accounts

Theoretisch ist es möglich, eine unbegrenzte Anzahl von Expert Advisors auf einer MetaTrader 4 Installation zu betreiben. Aus diesem Grund verfügen nahezu alle EAs über eine sogenannte Magic Number, über die der einzelne Expoert Advisor "seine" Orders monitoren kann. In der Regel ist es erforderlich, für jeden Chart eine eigene Magic Number zu vergeben, insbesondere auch dann, wenn der EA ein Währungspaar auf mehreren Charts gleichzeitig handeln soll - z.B. um verschiedene Einstellungen zu testen. Einige der moderneren EAs sind allerdings in der Lage, die Orders für die einzelnen Währungspaare automatisch auseinander zu halten, hier ist eine eigene Magic Number nur dann erforderlich, wenn tatsächlich zwei Charts eines Währungspaares verwendet werden sollen.

Aufgrund des technischen Designs ist MetaTrader 4 nicht in der Lage, mehrere Orders gleichzeitig zu verarbeiten. Es kann daher vorkommen, daß - wenn mehrere EAs auf jeweils mehreren Charts und möglicherweise sogar mit mehreren Handelsstrategien je Chart aktiv sind - zwei oder auch mehr Orders gleichzeitig beim sogenannten Trade Contex ankommen. In diesem Fall wird nur die erste Order ausgeführt, eine Warteliste oder ähnliches gibt es nicht. Ob die abgewiesenen Orders zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt erneut beauftragt werden, hängt von der Programmierung des jeweiligen auslösenden Expert Advisor ab. Die Auswirkungen dieser Problematik können reduziert werden, indem MetaTrader 4 mehrmals installiert oder eine bestehende Installation kopiert wird. Es ist dann möglich, sich von jeder dieser Installationen in ein und denselben Account einzuloggen und die Charts gleichmäßig auf die Installationen zu verteilen.

Ein weiterer Punkt, der beim Betrieb mehrerer Expert Advisors auf einem Account zu berücksichtigen ist, ist das Kontoguthaben bzw. die Margin. Einzelne EAs berücksichtigen im Rahmen ihres Money Management in der Regel das verfügbare Kontoguthaben, aber nicht das Verhalten anderer Expert Advisors. Während für einen EA mit 4 Handelsstrategien ein Risk per Trade von 5% ggf. noch akzeptabel sein kann, sieht das bei 3 EAs, die mit insgesamt 15 Handelsstrategien auf demselben Account aktiv sind, schon anders aus - hier kumuliert sich das Gesamtrisiko dann nämlich bereits auf 75%. Es kann somit vorkommen, daß aufgrund einer großen Anzahl offener Orders, die jede für sich genommen absolut im Rahmen liegen, die Margin vollständig aufgebraucht wird, was dann wiederum die Zwangsschließung einzelner Positionen durch den Broker auslösen kann.

MenĂ¼

Deutsch / English

Domain Factory