Forex Germany

Expert Advisors - CabEX

CabEX is an Expert Advisor that uses a more mid-term oriented trend following and retracement strategy. Trading signals are generated by price action if the required market conditions are confirmed by moving averages.

Initial take profit and stop loss limits are placed at 300 pips and 100 pips respectively. However, the stop loss is being adjusted to breakeven and subsequently increased in steps of 50 pips by a trailing stop when the market moves in favour of the open trade. The EA leaves room for open trades to avoid being stopped out by minor price movements.

CabEX provides a money management which allows the EA to use just a proportion of the account balance to make it easier to trade several EAs on one and the same account. It is also possible to trade with a fixed lot size. The additional trading parameters permit an adjustment of the take profit and stop loss limits used as well as of the settings for the trailing stop. Trading times can be set freely by entering start time and stop time parameters for the trading week. Open positions can be closed before the market closing to avoid weekend gaps.

Based on the backtests, CabEX achieves a risk-reward-ratio of almost 1:2 which combined with a hit ratio of about 50% represents a good value. Based on the relatively low hit ratio and taking into account the mid-term oriented trading strategy, extended drawdown periods have to be anticipated. Approximately 100 trades per year are to be expected.

A Monte-Carlo-Simulation, based on backtests, with a lot size of 0.05, a starting balance of EUR 1,000 and 100,000 iterations shows the following results for expected profits, expected drawdowns and the derived value at risk. Here the value at risk is expressed as the drawdown which is expected with a probability of 95% and 99% respectively not to be exceeded.

Period Profit Drawdown Value at Risk
max min Ø max min Ø 95% 99%
2009 - 2016 8,228.56 258.64 4,353.23 133.73% 2.56% 16.28% 37.54% 52.92%

Trading strategy

Trend following and retracement strategy.

Currency pairs

GBP/USD

Chart

H1

Trading hours

All sessions.
00:00 - 24:00 GMT

Price

Subscription: USD 540 per year.
Payment through Avangate.
Voucher for a 20% discount: 6CDE598F45

Return policy

The developers do no grant a right to return.

Licence

The licence is valid for two live and two demo accounts and includes support and updates for one year. In order to receive updates for the purchase version after the first year, an annual update fee of USD 35 is payable. Support will still be available even if this update subscription is not used. Accounts have to be activated by the support for trading.

Manual

A brief online manual is available after purchase, explaining the installation and set up of CabEX as well as the input parameters.

Links

CabEX Homepage

Buy CabEX annual subscription

Live performance

The performance of CabEX is demonstrated, as follows, on an exclusive Darwinex Live account. The forward test on the Alpari UK account had to be discontinued due to the broker's insolvency.




Backtesting

CabEX backtests for the period 2009 - 2016 are shown below.


GBP/USD, spread: 2 pips, risk: 6%

CabEX - Backtesting GBPUSD 2009 - 2016


GBP/USD, spread: 2 pips, lots: 0.05

CabEX - Backtesting GBPUSD 2009 - 2016
Menu

Deutsch / English

Domain Factory

Forex Germany

Expert Advisors - CabEX

CabEX ist ein Expert Advisor, der sowohl Trends, als auch entsprechende Gegenbewegungen handelt und dabei eine eher mittelfristige Strategie verfolgt. Die Handelssignale selbst werden immer dann auf Basis der tatsächlichen Kursbewegung generiert, wenn gleitende Durchschnitte das Vorhandensein bestimmter Rahmenbedingungen bestätigen.

Take Profit und Stop Loss Limits sind zunächst statisch bei 300 Pips bzw. 100 Pips, das Stop Loss Limit wird jedoch durch einen Trailing Stop zunächst auf Break Even und dann in Schritten von jeweils 50 Pips nachgeführt. Grundsätzlich erlaubt der EA offenen Positionen einen gewissen Freiraum, um kurzfristige Kursschwankungen durchzuhalten.

CabEX verfügt über ein Money Management, welches es erlaubt, dem EA lediglich einen Teil des Kontoguthabens für die Ermittlung der Lot Size zur Verfügung zu stellen, es kann jedoch auch mit festen Lots gehandelt werden. Die weiteren Eingabeparameter erlauben die Anpassung der verwendeten Take Profit und Stop Loss Limits sowie der Einstellungen zu den Trailing Stops. Zusätzlich können Handelsbeginn und Handelsende innerhalb der Woche frei vorgegeben sowie die Schließung einer offener Position vor Handelsschluß erzwungen werden.

Basierend auf den Backtests erreicht CabEX eine Risk-Reward-Ratio von ca. 1:2, was in Verbindung mit einer Trefferquote von knapp unter 50% einen guten Wert darstellt. Aufgrund dieser relativ niedrigen Trefferquote ist jedoch grundsätzlich mit längeren Drawdownphasen zu rechnen. Es sind in etwa 100 Trades pro Jahr zu erwarten.

Eine Monte-Carlo-Simulation auf Grundlage der Backtests (2009 - 2016) liefert bei Standardeinstellungen mit einer Lot Size von 0,05, einem Startsaldo von EUR 1.000 und 100.000 Iterationen die nachfolgenden Ergebnisse für den zu erwartenden Gewinn, den zu erwartenden Drawdown sowie den daraus abgeleiteten Value at Risk - hier ausgedrückt als der Drawdown, der mit einer Wahrscheinlichkeit von 95% bzw. 99% nicht überschritten wird.

Zeitraum Profit Drawdown Value at Risk
max min Ø max min Ø 95% 99%
2009 - 2016 8.228,56 258,64 4.353,23 133,73% 2,56% 16,28% 37,54% 52,92%

Handelsstrategie

Trendfolge- und Reversal Strategie

Währungen

GBP/USD

Chart

H1

Handelszeiten

alle Sessions
00:00 - 24:00 GMT

Preis

Abo: USD 540,- pro Jahr.
Zahlung über Avangate.
Kupon für 20% Rabatt bei Kauf über u.g. Link: 6CDE598F45

Rückgaberecht

Die Entwickler von CabEX gewähren kein Rückgaberecht.

Lizenz

Die Lizenz ist für zwei Live und zwei Demo Accounts gültig und beinhaltet Support und Updates für jeweils ein Jahr. Nach Ablauf des ersten Jahres fällt bei der Kaufversion jährliche Update Gebühr von USD 35,- an, der Support ist in jedem Fall weiterhin verfügbar, auch wenn von der Update Option kein Gebrauch gemacht wird. Die Accounts müssen zur Aktivierung über den Support freigeschaltet werden.

Handbuch

Die Installation und Einrichtung von CabEX, die Eingabeparameter sowie weitere Details zur Handelsstrategie werden auf der Webseite der Entwickler erläutert.

Links

CabEX Homepage

CabEX Jahresabo

Live Performance

Nachfolgend ist die Performance von CabEX auf einem exklusiven Darwinex Live Account dargestellt. Der Forward Test auf dem Alpari (UK) Account konnte wegen der Insolvenz des Brokers nicht fortgesetzt werden.




Backtesting

Nachfolgend sind Backtests von CabEX für die Jahre 2009 bis 2016 dargestellt.


GBP/USD, Spread: 2 Pips, Risk: 6%

CabEX - Backtesting GBPUSD 2009 - 2016


GBP/USD, Spread: 2 Pips, Lots: 0.05

CabEX - Backtesting GBPUSD 2009 - 2016
Menü

Deutsch / English

Domain Factory